Oakura Fire Brigade Prize Giving

Published August 28, 2013

Spring greetings from all at the Big Red Truck. On Saturday 21 August the Oakura Fire Brigade once again held its annual honours night.

2013 was another big year for honours within the Brigade.

This year, the following Fire Fighters received awards: Chief Fire Officer Matt Crabtree: Long Service Good Medal for 14 years service. This is a Queens Medal and was presented by Pat Fitzell Area Manager for Taranaki. Senior Fire Fighter Craig Scott: 2 year bar for 23 years service, Chief Fire Officer Matt Crabtree: 2 year bar for 15 years service, Fire Fighter Ross Bennett: 2 year bar for 7 years service, Qualified Fire Fighter Ross Buttimore: 2 year bar for 7 years service, Fire Fighter Andy Cullen: 5 year service medal, Secretary/ Treasurer Mel Breeze: 5 year service medal, Qualified Fire Fighter Jonathan Whitehead: 5 year service medal, Fire Fighter Andy Cullen: Year of the Volunteer medal, Fire Fighter Tran Lawrence: Year of the Volunteer medal.

Congratulations to all of the above and well done. We really appreciate your commitment to the Fire Service and the Oakura Brigade.

Each year we award a trophy, aptly named the Griff Award. It was presented to the Oakura Brigade on the celebration of Terry Griffiths Gold Star for 25 years service to the New Zealand Fire Service. This award is given to the person within the Brigade that the Chief Fire Officer believes has excelled in Attendance, Promotion of the Brigade, Education, Service, Participation, Training, Pride and Fire Prevention. This year the recipient of the Griff Award was Al Rawlinson. Congratulations Al and well done.

Daylight savings will soon start. Once again, we would like to remind you all to change your batteries in your smoke detectors. For further information as to where smoke detectors should be placed in the home, please refer to fire.org.nz All the best and stay safe,

Mel Breeze (Sec).