New Plymouth Boys High School Rocks ’em

Published August 06, 2013

We are at the beginning of a new term and boys are taking advantage of the various opportunities the school offers. Our boys continue to excel in music and it is good to see the growing number of rock bands as well as concert bands. This month we congratulate our performing artists.

1. New Zealand Secondary Schools’ (Taranaki Region) Chamber Music Competition:

Best chamber music group: ‘Shaken Not Stirred” (including Adrian Robb, violin, and Alan Ansell, piano).

Highly commended: ‘Telemann Trio’ (including James Park, violin, and Thomas Lawley, flute). ‘Take Four’ (including James Buckland, Adrian Robb, and Richard Gottleib, saxophones.)

Adjudicator’s Award: NPBHS Brass Quartet (including Curt Evans, trombone, Isaac Roche, trombone, Sam Evans, trumpet, and Andrew Boot, trumpet.)

Best Performance of a NZ Composition: ‘David’s Dudes’ (including Izzmel Raziff, violin.)

2. New Plymouth Operatic Society’s production of “Hairspray”:

Dancers: Hamish Phillips, Zane Coleman, and Whatu Ngati Tangirua.
Singer: Fergus Thomson.
Lighting crew: Sean Rhynd.

3. Rockquest Competition

Plainmotion : 2nd Overall, People’s Choice Award
Martin Leith, Jake McComb, Joel Robertson, Connor Rust, Ethan Taylor
Reach for Reason :3rd Overall, Craig Jacobs, Adam Bull, Conrad Watt, Cody Kivern
Choking Hazard: Best song Matt Glynn, Danyon Lythgow

Well done boys

Michael McMenamin, Headmaster.